ACT NO. 1-9

## AN ACT

Amending the District Election Act of 1978, establishing election districts for representation for Truk in the Congress, and for other purposes.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the Truk District Government that:

Section 1. Amendment. The District Election Act of 1978 and Title 21 of the Truk District Code are amended by addition of a new Chapter to read as follows:

## " Chapter 2. Congressional Districts.

## Sections

- 1. District established
- Reapportionment
- § 1. <u>District Established</u>. For the purpose of representation in the Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia for Truk, the following single member districts are established:
  - (1) First District shall be composed of the Mortlock Island Group namely Ettal, Kuttu, Losap, Lukunor, Moch, Nama, Namoluk, Oneop, Pis-Losap, Satawan and Ta;
  - (2) Second District shall be composed of the islands of Fono, Moen, and Pis-Moen;
  - (3) Third District shall be composed of the Southern Namoneas area of Truk Lagoon, namely the islands of Dublon, Etten, Fefan, Parem, Tsis, and Uman;
  - (4) Fourth District shall be composed of the Faichuk area of the Truk Lagoon, namely the islands of Eot, Falapanges, Patta, Polle, Romolum, Tol, Udot and Wonei; and
  - (5) Fifth District shall be composed of all other outer islands generally identified as the Hall Islands, the Namonuito Atoll and the

Western Islands, namely, the islands of Fananu, Magur, Murilo, Nomwin, Onary, Ono, Pisarach, Pulap, Pulusuk, Puluwat, Ruo, Tamatam and Ulul.

§ 2) Reapportionment. At least once every ten years, the Legislature shall reapportion the representation in the Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia into single member district of approximately equal population after giving due regard to language cultural and geographic differences."

Section 2. Effective Date. This Act shall take upon approval by the Governor or upon its becoming law without such approval.

Signed by:

Tadashi C. Wainit, Speaker Legislature of the Truk District

seember 15, 1978

Attested to:

Datasi Albert

Legislative Clerk/Secretary Legislature of the Truk District

Approved by:

Erhart Aten, Governor

Truk District Government